Maniac Mansion bootleg cartridge

Maniac Mansion bootleg cartridge

Here’s what I made as a 30 year birthday present for a friend of mine. Maniac Mansion cartridge for the Commodore 64!

Of course a cartridge like this never existed back in the day, as the original Manic Mansion released for the C64 was disk only game. It’s only thanks to the crackers, patchers and hardware developers of recent years who we can thank for the possibility to have this much acclaimed and loved game in a C64 cartridge format today.

You’ve probably guessed already that it’s an EasyFlash cartridge in a ‘custom’ Maniac Mansion themed cartridge case. And on the EasyFlash, there is written the excellent EasyFlash-patched Maniac Mansion Mercury by Onslaught. 

Basically the case is all what I made myself. And as I happened to have all the needed ingredients at hand, putting it all together was rather easy job to do. Some pictures for your entertainment:

MMcart insides

The only modification I did was replacing the originally red LED on the EasyFlash cartridge to a green one.

And since I was going to use this transparent blue cartridge housing, I soldered the new LED directly to the PCB surface and let the LED shine through the case. More interesting that way!

And since I was going to use this transparent blue cartridge housing, I soldered the new LED directly to the PCB surface and let the LED shine through the case. More interesting that way!

MMcart angle2

The EasyFlash is still of course fully featured and can be rewritten if needed. The boot switch and reset button are available at the top of the cartridge.

Another angle :)

Another angle :)

To be honest, the most time I spent editing the Maniac Mansion cover artwork to fit the cartridge label. You know, the original box art is portrait...

To be honest, the most time I spent editing the Maniac Mansion cover artwork to fit the cartridge label. You know, the original box art is portrait…

Running on the Commie!

Running on the Commie!

I'm quite satisfied with how nice it turned out!

I’m quite satisfied with how nice it turned out!

2 Responses to Maniac Mansion bootleg cartridge

  1. Blackdog says:

    Good work, looks great! Looks like this is an official game-cartridge. Maniac Mansion sadly is one of the few games, which dont have a SD2IEC-compatible image-version. Hope that this will come one day. I can play it with the Emulators and on my 1541-Ultimate, but would like to play it on my SD2IEC too. :)

  2. droutchosorou says:

    astonishing work! I would really pay for it (i know you can’t make it for selling it, and could make for myself)

Leave a Reply

